Home > Recipes > Weather, and…………….”Hotti”?

Weather, and…………….”Hotti”?

Ah yes, the weather. I suppose I should include some obligatory chat about the weather here. It is nice out. It was also nice out yesterday. Anyways, I made it from Sunday, March 7th to Sunday, March 14 without eating any meat at all. I don’t know why, I just did. And coincidentally I also got sick for the first time in 2 years. Interesting correlation, which leads me to believe that meat is the very lifeblood that feeds my loins. But anyhoo, I decided to celebrate not eating meat by eating some meat. I purchased some fixins for some delicious chili. I like to think of myself as somewhat of a freestyle cooker, so I’ve never actually made chili the same way twice. It’s like jazz baby. So now I will share with you the recipe that took form in my kitchen yesterday. It defies all conventional logic that one would associate with normal production of chili, so I came to call this recipe “Hotti”.

Here is what I did. And just a side note, I don’t use measurements. I’m more of a dash, pinch, and dollop kind of guy.

-Well I began by cooking up some turkey and yellow peppers in some olive oil and worcestershire sauce. Hot sauce and cayenne pepper were also added.

-Once the turkey was deemed edible, a can each of tomato paste and tomato sauce were thrown in the mix. The wizardry continues, so keep reading!

-A small amount of water was poured in. Then a few shakes of chili powder, a few pinches of cumin, and some black pepper were strewn over the concoction.

-A can opener was employed to eradicate the contents of a can of chili beans and a can of diced tomatoes into the evolving brew.

-More hot sauce, and even some steak sauce were mixed in.

-I should probably mention this was all done in a large pot, and then transferred to my trusty crockpot, where it was allowed to stew in its own juices for a good six hours. It was then transferred to the refridgerator until now. This is a very important step, as coagulation and marination occur here.

While this obviously turned out to be very gratifying, I have yet to rival the classic batch that was created for the New Morning Windows Chili Cook-off in September of 2008. Although it took 4th place in a field of 4, it was the perfect storm of heat, meat, and culinary prowess. It has attained near-mythical status in my apartment, a Beacon of Perfection in the domain of comestibles.

Well, that’s gonna do it for me. Feel free to share your own recipes.

Categories: Recipes Tags:

Leave a Reply

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

createdbyrcw

Seer of the invisible, scribe of the unwritten

Regie's Blog

The pen is mightier than the sword ...unless someone is trying to stab you with a sword. Then, it's the sword ...definitely the sword.

Idiot Joy Showland

This is why I hate intellectuals

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Dalton's Magazine

Spanning the world with pieces of think

You're Fine

a blog about things that shouldn't matter

ROAMIN' GNOMIALS

Empowered by guys in short pants to write whatever I want, whenever I want, for no money whatsoever.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Duh'Merica

.....teasing the stunted masses with my opposable thumbs....

The Brown Road Chronicles

Stories about country living, old houses, dirt roads, fresh air and other amusing (and possibly even inspirational) anecdotes!

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

a comedian's notebook

taking comedy seriously, but not too seriously

Still Skeptical After All These Years

Jim Wheeler - Rational Skeptic

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

pen pals on pills

there are no meds for crippling separation anxiety

