Home > Music > Oh No, I Think I Like Polka Music

Oh No, I Think I Like Polka Music

I’m not sure how this happened, but I think I like polka music now. “How could you let this happen?,” you are undoubtedly asking yourself. Well my friends, it all happened so fast, and here is what I remember.

The Beginning

The other day at the local library, I noticed a CD with a cover featuring some rather portly gentlemen and their gal friends dancing around in a tent. My curiosity, having been piqued, prodded me to pick this album up. “Deep Polka: Dance Music From the Midwest,” the title said. I know now that I should have just put it back.

Infatuation

Having been born in the self-proclaimed “Polka Capital of the Nation” (New Ulm, MN), I figured it wouldn’t hurt to return to my humble roots. Upon its insertion into the CD player of my car on the ride home, I found myself keeping time with my fingers on the steering wheel. Something dark and terrible was awakening within me.

Rock Bottom

I was so enamored with the music that I actually found myself planning a trip to New Ulm in July for their annual “Polka Days” festival. Luckily for me, I discovered that this event was mysteriously discontinued in the early 1970’s. But as I sit here, listening with great enthusiasm to the Norskedalen Trio, I can’t help but wonder how long it will be until I find myself passed out with the drippings from schnitzel and Schell’s (brewed in New Ulm) beer trickling onto my sweaty, mustard-stained undershirt.

Well, here’s the Blong. It’s some polka, obviously.

And is it just me, or does this song from Super Mario sound like polka? Or is it technically a waltz?

  1. Tom Gibson
    January 6, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    My mom had me make her a mix tape of Polka music many years ago and I’ve been hooked ever since. It’s just gosh darn happy music. If you ever have to drown a new litter of kittens because you just don’t want to deal with finding homes for them, put on some polka music. It always turns a dreary project into something fun.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

createdbyrcw

Seer of the invisible, scribe of the unwritten

Regie's Blog

The pen is mightier than the sword ...unless someone is trying to stab you with a sword. Then, it's the sword ...definitely the sword.

Idiot Joy Showland

This is why I hate intellectuals

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Dalton's Magazine

Spanning the world with pieces of think

You're Fine

a blog about things that shouldn't matter

ROAMIN' GNOMIALS

Empowered by guys in short pants to write whatever I want, whenever I want, for no money whatsoever.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Duh'Merica

.....teasing the stunted masses with my opposable thumbs....

The Brown Road Chronicles

Stories about country living, old houses, dirt roads, fresh air and other amusing (and possibly even inspirational) anecdotes!

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

a comedian's notebook

taking comedy seriously, but not too seriously

Still Skeptical After All These Years

Jim Wheeler - Rational Skeptic

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

pen pals on pills

there are no meds for crippling separation anxiety

